Four major teachers union to hold joint province-wide strike tomorrow

The dispute between the province and educators has escalated to several rotating one-day strikes. And tomorrow, all four major teachers union in Ontario will stand up to the Ford government in a one-day political protest across the province.

  • Elementary Teachers’ Federation in Ontario (ETFO)
  • Ontario English Catholic Teachers’ Association (OECTA)
  • Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF)
  • Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens¬†(AEFO)

The province-wide strike will have about two million students out of class, with about 200,000 teachers participating in the strike across 72 school boards. This is the first time since 1997 that all elementary and secondary teachers, and support workers from the four unions will strike on the same day.

The joint strike is an “irresponsible choice” according to Education Minister, Stephen Lecce. Especially that it has caused students to miss several school days already affecting not only the students but families as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.